2011 ASTA Bag Competition


The Winners



Megan MacGill


Taylor Price, Walton Pan, Ethan Chan, Nathan Chan, Timothy Mans, Elizabeth Chan, Megan MacGill, Levi Conway, Michael Mans, Stephen Winzer, Cady Jarman, Aidan Chan


Elizabeth Hole


Tristan Palnau, Josh Wells, Emily Hedrick, Ian Thomas, Megan Draut, Madeline Park

2011 ASTA Bag Competition Information

Thank you to ASTA (American String Teacher Association) for donating the bag for our 6th Annual ASTA Bag Competion. Also thank you to each one who so graciously autogrpahed the bag this year:

  • Kelly Barr
  • Mike Bates
  • Brigid Bibbens
  • Mike Block
  • Renata Bratt
  • John Brown
  • Mimi Butler
  • Craig Butterfield
  • Andrew Carlson
  • Jeremy Cohen
  • Richard Culatta
  • Ken Dattmore
  • Joe Deninzon
  • Beth Fortune
  • Robert Gardner
  • Jonathan Glawe
  • Eric Gorfain
  • Endre Granat
  • Christian Howes
  • Theresa Jenkins-Russ
  • Scott Laird
  • Lynne Latham
  • Mark Laycock
  • Bert Ligon
  • Amy Feldkamp Marr
  • Kirk Moss
  • Martin Norgaard
  • Bob Phillips
  • Rachel Barton Pine
  • Dalton Potter
  • Derek Powers
  • Randy Sabien
  • John Schimek
  • Stephen Shipps
  • Lucas Shogren
  • Stephanie Shogren
  • Tracy Silverman
  • Jeffrey Solow
  • Jim Starr
  • William Terwilliger
  • Deanne Thompkins
  • Mark Wood
  • Mimi Zweig


  1. Students must be current on all lessons and payments for the year.
  2. Each entry in the bag requires that the student learn five new scales at their level.
  3. Scales must be performed by memory. Note names must be said aloud unless the teacher determines the tempo of the scale prevents it or unless the student performs on a wind instrument.
  4. Each student must perform in the April recital.